News from this weekend.

On Friday I had a panic attack. It felt like it came out of nowhere, but really it came after I spent all morning dreading work, and then kicked in fifteen minutes into my shift.

I don’t think it’s a surprise to anyone that I’ve been having a hard time dealing with everything, and part of that has been a growing anxiety around work. I wanted to be okay, I wanted to be able to just soldier on and let everything settle back to normal, I expected to be able to work at the level I used to. But I can’t, and I overstressed myself trying. It can be so frustrating to realize that you’re no longer capable of something you used to do easily, but that’s where I am.

As of Saturday I am taking time off work. Maybe a year, I’m not exactly sure. We are blessed to be in a situation with David’s new job where we can afford to do this kind of thing. I’ve been referred to behavioural health services for counseling and given a perscription to calm me down if another panic attack comes. Outside of that I’m going to try to just take it slow and try to heal.

One thought on “News from this weekend.

Leave a Reply

